Introducing… Nujabes [from Japan]!

It was a little over 2 years ago when I was at my friend Memo‘s house with my laptop sharing music. We’ve been planning on this going down for quite some time. I think about an hour later into down/uploading music, he asked me if I heard of this dude, Nujabes? At first I was like “Who?” LOL. Then he started to explain where he was from and what he does. Then he burned a cd that was released back in 2003 called Metaphorical Music. I think I was instantly hooked on the first few tracks that was played! After that, I went online to check out more about him and found his myspace page; got hooked again once I heard the track that he did with legend emcee CL Smooth [note: the horns drove me NUTS]! Anyways, that’s how I got introduced to this [unfortunately slept on, yet dope as hell] producer!!

Nujabes [or Jun Seba (spelled backwards)] has been around, quietly [because of lack of media appearances] for awhile now. He has dealt with a lot of US artists, like well-known acts such as R&B singer Dwele, Substantial [NY], CL Smooth, and a few others. He also dealt with those from the UK like Funky DL, and local artists from Japan like Uyama Hiroto, Shing02 and Minmi. He’s known for his melodic and triumphant beats with live instrumentation and sampling. What I like about his charisma is that not only does he makes rare appearances, but on his albums he doesnt show his images; all of the images are of distinct and abstract artistry. It’s the mystery behind it all. How does he link up with these artists and make dope music is still a blur to me…

Nujabes linked up with American producer/MC Fat Jon to do the soundtrack to the Departure season of the popular anime Samurai Champloo. The soundtrack has 17 joints on there, with vocal pieces performed by rap artist Shing02 and R&B songstress Minmi.

Well,  the reason for this post is because I’ve found his stuff online and I wanted to share it with you. I was looking all over the US [via internet] for hard copies of these albums, and I wasnt successful. But thanks to the wonders of ___________, I was able to get them and here they are for your listening pleasure. I’ve always known that Japan was one of the biggest supporters of hiphop, and Nujabes has solidified himself as being proof of that statement!

Click the pictures below to get the… you know. The pictures go from left to right in order of release. There’s a fairly new album out that he released this year called Mellow Beats, Friends and Lovers, and he has other side projects like his Japanese Gangster project [which is his remix of Jay-Z’s American Gangster album], and other stuff he produced for, like Pase Rock’s Bullshit As Usual album..

Check out [translate the pages] for more info:

In order of release [L-R]:

  1. Hydeout Productions 1st Collection [4/23/03]
  2. Metaphorical Music [8/21/03]
  3. Modal Soul [11/11/05]
  4. Hydeout Productions 2nd Collection [11/11/07]
  5. Samurai Champloo: Departure [6/23/04]

Tracklisting [all albums]:

Hydeout Production 1st Collection:

  • 01. “Moon Strut”
    02. “Don’t Even Try It” (featuring Funky DL)
    03. “Strive” (featuring Apani B)
    04. “Home Sweet Home” (featuring Substantial)
    05. “Still Talking To You”
    06. “Luv (Sic)” (featuring Shing02)
    07. “Steadfast”
    08. “Lyrical Terrorists” (featuring Substantial & L-Universe)
    09. “Lose My Religion” (Remix) (featuring L-Universe)
    10. “It’s About Time (Fat Jon Remix)” (featuring Pase Rock)
    11. “Plazma Avenue” (featuring Five Deez)
    12. “D.T.F.N.” (featuring Cise Starr)
    13. “People’s Don’t Stray” (featuring Funky DL)
    14. “Luv (Sic) Part 2” (featuring Shing02)

Metaphorical Music

  • 01 “Blessing It” (Featuring Substantial and Pase Rock of Five Deez)
    02 “Horn in the Middle”
    03 “Lady Brown” (Featuring Cise Starr)
    04 “Kumomi” (Produced by Nujabes)
    05 “Highs 2 Lows” (Featuring Cise Starr)
    06 “Beat Laments the World”
    07 “Letter From Yokosuka”
    08 “Think Different” (Featuring Substantial)
    09 “A Day by Atmosphere Supreme”
    10 “Next View” (Featuring Uyama Hiroto on Sax)
    11 “Latitude (Remix)” (Featuring Five Deez)
    12 “F.I.L.O.” (Featuring Shing02) (Produced by Nujabes)
    13 “Summer Gypsy”
    14 “The Final View”
    15 “Peaceland”

Modal Soul

  • 01 “Feather” (featuring Cise Starr & Akin)
    02 “Ordinary Joe” (featuring Terry Callier)
    03 “Reflection Eternal”
    04 “Luv (Sic) Part 3” (featuring Shing02)
    05 “Music Is Mine”
    06 “Eclipse” (featuring Substantial)
    07 “The Sign” (featuring Pase Rock)
    08 “Thank You” (featuring Apani B)
    09 “World’s End Rhapsody”
    10 “Modal Soul” (featuring Uyama Hiroto)
    11 “Flowers”
    12 “Sea Of Cloud”
    13 “Light On The Land”
    14 “Horizon”

HydeOut Productions 2nd Collection

  • 01 “Voice of Autumn”
    02 “Sky Is Falling” (featuring CL Smooth)
    03 “Waltz for Life Will Born” (featuring Uyama Hiroto)
    04 “Imaginary Folklore” (featuring Clammbon)
    05 “Hikari” (featuring Substantial)
    06 “Counting Stars”
    07 “Another Reflection”
    08 “Fly By Night” (featuring Five Deez)
    09 “Old Light (Voices from 93 Million Miles Away Remix)” (featuring Pase Rock)
    10 “With Rainy Eyes” (featuring Emancipator)
    11 “Luv (Sic)(Modal Soul Remix)” (featuring Shing02)
    12 “Windspeaks” (featuring Uyama Hiroto)
    13 “Winter Lane (Nujabes Remix)” (featuring DSK)
    14 “After Hanabi (Listen To My Beats)”

Samurai Champloo Soundtrack: “Departure”

  • 01. Nujabes – “Battlecry” [Featuring Shing02]
    02. Nujabes – “The Space Between Two World”
    03. Nujabes – “Aruarian Dance”
    04. Nujabes – “Kujaku”
    05. Nujabes – “Mystline”
    06. Nujabes – “1st Samurai”
    07. Fat Jon – “Ole”
    08. Fat Jon – “624 Part 2”
    09. Fat Jon – “Genome”
    10. Fat Jon – “No Way’ Back”
    11. Fat Jon – “Funkin”
    12. Fat Jon – “Stay”
    13. Fat Jon – “Chambers”
    14. Fat Jon – “Ask”
    15. Fat Jon – “How You Feel”
    16. Fat Jon – “624 Part 1”
    17. MINMI – “Shiki no Uta” (…, “Shiki no Uta”?)

One thought on “Introducing… Nujabes [from Japan]!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s