George Bush x Kanye West: 5 Years Later [Hurricane Katrina]…

Five years later after Kanye West gave his televised criticism on the government’s ‘immediate reaction’ to Hurricane Katrina, George Bush finally speaks out to Matt Lauer in a taped interview for a special primetime Matt Lauer Reports, scheduled to be televised on Monday, November 8th. He says that Kanye West ‘is a racist’, and claiming that what he said was one of the most disgusting moments in his presidency [read how it sounds below]. A lil over an hour ago, Kanye gives his response to Bush’s remarks to Devi Dev on 97.9 The Box [Houston]. Read below..

Matt Lauer Reports [transcript]:

Lauer quotes from Bush’s new book: “Five years later I can barely write those words without feeling disgust.” Lauer adds, “You go on: ‘I faced a lot of criticism as President. I didn’t like hearing people claim that I lied about Iraq’s weapons of mass destruction or cut taxes to benefit the rich. But the suggestion that I was racist because of the response to Katrina represented an all-time low.’

President Bush responds: “Yeah. I still feel that way as you read those words. I felt ‘em when I heard ‘em, felt ‘em when I wrote ‘em and I felt ‘em when I’m listening to ‘em.

Lauer: “You say you told Laura at the time it was the worst moment of your Presidency?”

Bush: “Yes. My record was strong I felt when it came to race relations and giving people a chance. And it was a disgusting moment.”

Lauer: “I wonder if some people are going to read that, now that you’ve written it, and they might give you some heat for that. And the reason is this — “

Bush [interrupting]: “Don’t care.”

Lauer: “Well, here’s the reason. You’re not saying that the worst moment in you’re Presidency was watching the misery in Louisiana. You’re saying it was when someone insulted you because of that.”

Bush: “No, and I also make it clear that the misery in Louisiana affected me deeply as well. There’s a lot of tough moments in the book. And it was a disgusting moment, pure and simple.”

Kanye?

Leave a Reply

