My life through pictures…

It’s been a rough five months. A really, REALLY, rough five months. I wish I could get the crazies out of my head.

 

The positive side about these five months is that I think I’m starting to see things open up for me. Slowly, but they’re becoming more noticeable than before.

 

Since I left to Pasadena City College, I’ve enrolled in a journalism class that has exposed me to a different side of creativity than what I’m used to. I think that also includes the help of Instagram as well. Our class pretty much works for the school’s newspaper, The Courier.  Because our class is nothing but photographers, we go out on assignments with writers who are from another class (but in the same field) and cover stories together. We get a budget every week and we get to pick what stories we would like to cover for the paper, which everything ends up in print and is put in every Courier box for students to grab every Thursday morning. Last Thursday, my pictures got published!

Photo Oct 12, 10 17 43 PM

That day that I saw my pictures in the paper, it has became known to me for sure that I really want to pursue Photojournalism.

On a side note, I’ve been following a number of people who have inspired me to shoot better, and within the past week or so, I became interested in doing photoshoots for strangers. I’ve reached out to a couple of people on IG, and they said they were down. So, now it’s my turn to connect the dots so that they know that I’m serious about wanting to make some things happen. I’ve shot friends before, and I’m very thankful for the opportunities they’ve given me. I’ve been very nervous about doing it with strangers, but how else am I supposed to make a portfolio if I don’t meet these people?

Anyhow, since it’s been a while, here’s some pictures I’ve been taking of so far..

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Published by EricSoul.

I like to write and shoot anything that is dope. Oh, and I write for an awesome international hiphop blog called Word Is Bond. Boom. The End.

Leave a comment